20 Chore Tuesday- Money Makes The World Go Around

I can’t believe it’s Tuesday again. It seems like it sneaks up on me really quickly every week. My goals for the day mostly involve money and research, since Hubby’s separation date is looming ever closer. I fully intend to pour myself a cup of coffee, put on some Brandi Carlile on Pandora (thank you, Mom, for introducing me to Ms. Carlile. Her voice makes chores more bearable.) and conquer some monetary housekeeping chores!

20-chores2

  1. Mop the linoleum floors downstairs
  2. Vacuum the living room
  3. Put together our budgets for May, June, and July. I’m attempting to write out each month’s budget until November so I know about how much we’ll be able to save.
  4. Clean off the kitchen table. I’ve actually been really good about keeping this clear, since we’ve been playing Skip Bo every night, but there’s still some stuff accumulated.

download (3)

  1. I called our internet provider and asked for a lower rate. Our internet bill has been creeping higher and higher, and was sitting around $62 a month. I asked for an introductory rate, and got it lowered to $41 a month for six months. That’s $20 extra in our pocket each month! This will expire in September, at which point I’ll call again and ask for a similar lower rate for the remaining month we’ll be here.
  2. Listed 5 items on Bookoo. Everything I listed was clothing that I was holding on to in the hopes of fitting into it again someday, but I’ve realized that that’s pointless. My body is never going to be the same shape again, and the clothes are just taking up space and mocking me. Why shouldn’t they pay off some debt instead?
  3. I called our insurance company and verified that there wasn’t a problem with our payment, it just didn’t come out of our account yet because the payment date was on a weekend. I get worried when payments don’t post when they’re supposed to, so this is a load off my mind.
  4. Dinner is cooking on the stove. We’re having Dirt Cheap Soup, which essentially consists of putting any leftover vegetables or fresh veggies that are starting to go past their prime in a pot, simmering it for hours, and adding a shredded chicken breast and package of frozen egg noodles with about an hour left to go. It’s cheap, it’s filling, and it uses up vegetables that wouldn’t get used otherwise. Serve it with some homemade french bread, and you have yourself one frugal meal.
  5. I e-mailed PayPal about changing my name. I currently have my account set up with my nickname, and I need it changed to my legal name so that I can retrieve the money in my account. Hopefully this will be cleared up quickly, I have quite a chunk in there!
  6. I unclogged the sink. I don’t know what happened, but both halves were belching out nasty brown water. Instead of calling housing, which would have been a plumber if we weren’t in base housing, I took our kitchen plunger and some Drain-O and took care of it myself. Theoretically, I could have saved myself about $200!
  7. Little Man and I emptied the dishwasher. I’ll reload it later today, once we’ve accumulated enough dishes for a load.
  8. Fixed our Mint.com budget for March. I could not for the life of me figure out what went wrong this month, because my budget kept telling me we were going over, but my bank account said otherwise. I ended up figuring out it was the “Goals” feature that was the problem- I just deleted our goals, and put those accounts as budgets.
  9. I cleaned out the refrigerator and got rid of all the yucky old stuff. There wasn’t that much this week, partially thanks to tonight’s dinner of Dirt Cheap Soup.
  10. I finished one of my library books. I’ll return it tomorrow, and lessen the chances of running up late fees. I have to go to the post office to ship something I sold tomorrow, so it’s not like I’m making a special trip.
  11. I made a loaf of homemade bread to go with our Dirt Cheap Soup. Homemade bread makes everything seem a lot fancier.
  12. I cleaned the kitchen counters
  13. I cleaned up the stuff on the floor in the dining room
  14. I vacuumed the dining room (Little Man followed up with his singing vacuum)
  15. I did a load of dishes.
  16. I logged on to my college’s bookstore and found out what books I need for next semester. I had a minor heart attack when I saw how much money I was going to have to put into books this semester, and immediately started considering what I could sell to fund the small fortune’s worth of books I need.
Leave a Reply

