20 Chore Tuesday- Decluttering Day

Today is Tuesday, which means it’s once again time to attempt to squash 20 chores into my day. Boy howdy, does my house need it- between my brother-in-law just getting back from deployment, my 17 month old son believing all his toys need to be on the floor all the time, and a nasty little headcold, I haven’t done any cleaning in three days. It’s fairly terrifying. I’m pretty sure a dust bunny just growled at me.

However, since I still have the aforementioned headcold and I can’t really take any medicine for it, my chores will be mostly easy, quick tasks designed to take a few minutes, not a few hours.

20-chores2

  1. Write a note to my in-laws. They live in the middle of Wyoming and can’t get luxury chocolates or flavored coffees for any price lower than the blood of a Mayan virgin, so we send them care packages fairly often. One full of clearance goodies from Christmas is full, it just needs a note and a drawing from Little Man.
  2. Pack my BFF’s care package. She’s getting emergency surgery, so I went to Barnes and Noble and bought all the history-related books I could get my paws on for her while she’s recuperating. I’m also including some tea, since tea heals your soul.
  3. Do a load of laundry. It’s piled up to embarrassing levels.
  4. Clean out Little Man’s toys. I don’t know how, but this kiddo accumulates toys at an alarming rate. I don’t even buy them for him, they just kind of show up.
  5. Post 10 items on Craigslist. I have a ton of stuff that needs to go, I’ve just been slacking a little on getting them photographed and posted.
  6. Convince Hubby that the Christmas tree needs to go, then get rid of it. This was the very first year we had a real tree, and it acted a little like a puppy- it hid in the corner and pooped all over the carpet. I’m ready for it to leave.
  7. Get some outside playtime. Like I said, not feeling well. Sitting outside for a few hours is taxing enough.
  8. Fold the mountain of clothes that’s accumulated on the rocking chair.
  9. Change the sheets on all four beds.
  10. Wash the couch covers. They’re starting to look a bit grungy again.
  11. Clean off and organize my desk.
  12. Finish up our January budget. Our goal is to pay off one debt (our highest interest one first) by December 2014.
  13. Read a chapter of a book. I want to make more time to read next year, so I’m starting today. Clearly, this will be a naptime activity!
  14. Wash hubby’s cammies. Somehow, I always forget to wash these over weekends and holidays, leading to me staying up waaaayyy too late the night before he has to go back waiting to put them in the dryer.
  15. Get some snuggle time in. Little Man is super snuggly today, and that doesn’t happen very often, so I intend to take advantage of that!
  16. Clean off the little part of the counter, by the sink. Somehow, everything ends up here. Everything.
  17. Make dinner.
  18. Write two condolance cards to my friends. Their mother died today, and telling them I’m sorry for their loss over Facebook just feels… I don’t have a word for this emotion. Cheap? Like a shot to then balls? I don’t know.
  19. Write in my journal. I want to be better about this, too.
  20. Clean off the kitchen table. Again, I have no idea how so much stuff winds up here each day, but it’s insanity.

Leave a comment